inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Himica Kumar

“A woman with a voice is by definition a strong woman. But the search to find that voice can be remarkably difficult.” – Melinda Gates
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi! I’m Himica Kumar, a 4th year at the University of Virginia from Northern Virginia studying computer science and entrepreneurship. I love to stay involved in various organizations at school and am Corporate Relations chair of our Women in Computing Sciences club, publicity chair of our chapter of the United Nations Girl Up initiative, and an active participant in UVA’s Society of Women Engineers. As I’m sure you can tell, I’m very passionate about empowering girls around the world and promoting STEM education. This summer I worked as a product management intern at PayPal and absolutely loved the experience as well as living in the bay area. I’m a big fan of Bollywood movies and am a member of Aaja Nachle, a Bollywood dance team at my school. I love to try cooking new dishes, spend time with friends and family, and binge watch tv shows (currently watching Mr. Robot and Suits). My fun fact would have to be that I absolutely love wedding planning, something I discovered while helping plan two weddings in the past year. I’m currently helping a friend plan her wedding next year and hope to continue this in the future!

IMG_3041.JPG

What # would define your life journey?
#justdoit
Often times I find myself overthinking things, and I’ve learned that the best thing to do is just try whatever it is I’m thinking too much about and see what happens. After all, you won’t ever know what you like until you try it!

Favorite website / app:
Spotify, by far, is the most used app on both my phone and laptop. I love to listen to music while doing just about anything and love how easy it is to use and discover new music.
12916781_1379562855402881_4841671609559186445_o

Song that makes you want to dance:
Hymn for the Weekend – Seeb Remix by Coldplay

I listened to this song every morning while on the train to work and it sort of became representative of all the new people, experiences, and things I did while living in the Bay Area for the summer. Now every time I hear it I can’t help but smile and want to dance.

Ideal Job:
In 10 years, I’d like to be helping build a social entrepreneurship venture from the ground up. I want to build a company whose primary focus is to bring about social change, specifically in bringing access to education for children around the world, while also being a financially self-sustainable business. My goal is to work in a role where I am having a positive and measurable social impact.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t be afraid to try new things and do what interests you! Halfway into college, I realized that in addition to computer science there were a lot of other subjects I wanted to learn more about but hadn’t had a chance to. I took up a social entrepreneurship minor and started taking classes in philosophy, psychology, public policy, and history. Although I was worried about not doing more computer science related things, I really think it helped me discover some new interests and meet some very cool people.
img_3260

Leave a Reply

