#WomeninSTEM · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Huan Wu

“My job is to bring people happiness.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a senior major in architecture design, minor in computer science in University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. You can find more about me from my website. My life story… Actually, I thought I would be an architect or designer in the future, but the internship two years ago helped me discover the interest in computer science. I’m a person who laugh easily, and sometimes I tell really bad jokes. My mum asked me not to laugh too much because I’ll get a lot of wrinkles, but…who cares haha.

Fun fact: Actually there is a knock-knock joke for my name:
Knock, knock
Who’s there?
Huan
Huan who?
Huan Wu!

(If you didn’t laugh, it should count as one of my bad jokes xp)
h2

What # would define your life journey?
#alwaystrynewthings

Favorite website / app:
I found a new website – Noisle. I hope I could build some website like that, which incorporates different types of sound to give users magical experiences. Some experiences similar to Virtual Barber Shop. If you haven’t heard it before, I highly recommend you to try it on a good sound headphone. You will not regret it!

h3
Song that makes you want to dance
:
I love dancing, so basically I could dance with any music with a good beat, but Dumb Ways to Die is my favorite one now. (It’s a really cute game song)

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Making my mind to change my direction to computer science is the biggest challenge. I learned some frontend languages and did some website projects just for fun when I was a freshman, but I didn’t realize this would be something I would be passionate about in the future. I used to doubt myself whether I made a correct decision and whether I wasted too much time figuring out what I actually want to do. Afterwards, I found that all those doubts are meaningless. Life is all about experiences, and all those experiences make YOU. Even though putting a lot of effort to architecture seems like a waste of time, it also helps me gain design skills, which is quite helpful for website design. It is never too late to figure out what you like. Just do it now. 🙂
h4

Ideal Job:
I’m experienced in web and iOS development, and it’s fun to deal with frontend, but I’m also interested to dig more into backend and explore other fields.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t let other people to define you. Girls can be leaders. Girls can do computer science. Girls can achieve whatever they want. In my sophomore year, I got interested in breaking down cultural barriers around US, and got in touch with a startup company, called Odysseylife. The founder trusted me, and let me be the president of Odysseylife in UIUC, but a lot of people doubted how a girl could handle that. After a whole year, under the help with many of my friends, this branch achieved huge success. Don’t let anyone define you. Do the things you are passionate about. 🙂
h5

Leave a Reply

