#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Yulissa Arroyo-Paredes

“The most courageous act is still to think for yourself.  Aloud.” – Coco Chanel
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi I’m Yulissa, a sophomore at Barnard College in New York City, but am originally and will always belong to Chicago. I love to eat Mexican food, listen to music, and have get togethers, they all remind me of home. I was an intern at Google this summer, which helped me realize that computer science is something that I am passionate about and want to continue doing. I am fascinated by cities, I love living in them and learning their historical context. I am such a city person that I don’t even know how to drive.

What # would define your life journey?
#sorrynotsorry

Favorite website / app:
buzzfeed.com, sometimes their stuff is really funny, sometimes they have really interesting investigations and write amazing articles.
img_3445

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I know this is corny but my mom is my biggest inspiration. She always makes sure I remember how I got to where I am and that there are lots of people cheering me on. The best piece of advice is she’s given be is that no matter what I do, if I care about it and am happy doing it then I am already successful.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In many of my CS classes I often feel like the material isn’t for me, that I am not as smart as everyone else and that is the reason I am struggling in the course. And then I realize that there are others feeling the same way but I am just putting myself down.
img_3540

Ideal Job:
Not sure where I’ll be working, but I’ll still be coding and hopefully giving back to my community and city in some way.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Going off of that piece of advice, I would say happiness comes in many different forms and you should always make sure you have some in your day to day. You’ll be a better person because of that. If you are in a place in your life where you don’t feel that, then reach out because there is always someone who is willing to help you out.

Leave a Reply

