#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Suveena Thanawala

“Do not bring people in your life who weigh you down, and trust your instincts. Good relationships feel good. They feel right. They don’t hurt. They’re not painful. That’s not just with somebody you want to marry, but it’s with the friends you choose. It’s with the people you surround yourself with.” – Michelle Obama
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a sophomore at the University of Southern California, studying Computer Engineering & Computer Science with an Entrepreneurship minor, on a Pre-Law track. I love that I’m able to explore a variety of my interests and pursue them in a degree, and on top of that be involved in research, student organizations, and professional development associations at USC. Originally, I’m from the Bay Area, California, but I spent last summer abroad in Madrid. It was the most unforgettable experience I’ve had in my life – I was able to experience a new culture on my own through spending my days at coffee shops, getting lost on the Metro, exploring Spanish cuisine (I’m a huge foodie & believer that you can really understand a person or culture through food), and using my Spanish skills from high school to communicate with people who are local.
img_9149

What # would define your life journey?
#justdoit

Favorite website / app:
Slack!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My sister – she’s such a positive person who can make anyone’s day better. She has the ability to understand others and has an intuitive ability to give advice. On top of that, she’s always encouraged me to pursue my interests in computer science & engineering; she has served as a role model for me in so many ways.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Mr. Brightside” by The Killers
img_2883

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One of the greatest challenges I’ve faced multiple times is not letting little things discourage me. When I have an off-day or a project that I’m working on is taking a little longer to come together, it’s easy to get discouraged, understandably; however, I’ve learned that shifting my mentality to view potential setbacks as learning opportunities can keep the bumps in the road from becoming signs to stop completely.

Ideal Job:
I would love to be working somewhere where I make a direct positive impact on the world, where I learn something new everyday, and where I’m surrounded by bright entrepreneurial minds.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Whatever it is that you really want to be doing, go for it. There are plenty of reasons people, even you yourself, will tell you not to go for something but none of those reasons hold any weight unless you give them the power to. By doing things that used to scare me, I’ve had some of the greatest experiences of my life and have become involved in the greatest organizations and programs I know of. That’s led me to meet so many people that have had great impact in my life.

Leave a Reply

