#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jackie Loven

“Don’t deprecate your own work before people have a chance to form their own opinions about it.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Jackie and I really enjoy making things. I paint and 3D print and code, and I like the feeling of creating something from nothing.

Two fun facts about me are that I play the ukulele and have a cactus named Jared.0.1.

What # would define your life journey?
My favorite hashtag on Twitter is #WomenInSTEM, because just looking through the series of tweets tagged with #WomenInSTEM gets me excited about the future. I think it’s awesome that so much outreach is happening to get women involved with engineering!

Favorite book:
My favorite book right now is Christian Rudder’s “Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking).” He’s one of the founders of OkCupid and uses huge troves of data to determine what people really want vs. what they say they want. I’m really into using data to answer questions, and his approach in the book is very cool.
jackie3

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My parents inspire me- my mom is a strong leader and my dad has a limitless curiosity. They have taught me that I can achieve anything through hard work.

Song that makes you want to dance:
A song that I love playing on the ukulele is Jack Johnson’s “Better Together,” because I finally learned all the barchords. My favorite subjects to paint are city skylines.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’ve faced lots of technical challenges, whether through coding or 3D printing or even conducting lab work at school, but the most important takeaway for me has been that it’s okay to ask for help. If I’m having a lot of trouble and I’ve exhausted all methods of trying new ideas and searching for answers, then I know that asking someone a question does not mean I’m not smart or I’m incapable. It means I’m ready to put in the work to learn something new.
jackie1

Ideal Job:
My ideal job combines Materials Science and Engineering (my major) with coding. This past summer I interned at Sonos, a company that makes speakers and collects data on their use. It was super exciting because I was exposed to both the physical nature of the product and the way we could use data to drive decisions and enhance the product.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
If you’re a woman in STEM looking to REIGN your life, don’t be afraid to ask questions. And if you work hard on something, present it that way! Something I learned last summer that I now carry with me is, “Don’t deprecate your own work before people have a chance to form their own opinions about it.”
jackie2

Leave a Reply

