#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sarah Orrico

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” — Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I was born and raised in Los Angeles, California and I had never been in the snow or seen it until I moved to Fort Collins for college. I am currently an intern at CA Technologies and absolutely love it.

What # would define your life journey?
#happiness

Favorite website / app:
VSCO because I love taking pictures and the app allows me to publish all the pictures i want.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My father has inspired me a lot throughout my life, especially now that I am in college. He has taught me to work my hardest on the things I love.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Rain is a good thing by Luke Bryan
fishing-in-the-poudre-canyon

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One of the biggest life challenges I have gone through and honestly I am still going through today is college. I am an out of state student so my tuition can be a bit pricey, so I have taken on the challenge of paying for my own rent, utilities, food, gas and random things I do on the weekends without help from my parents. Last year I was a full time student, a undergraduate teaching assistant and worked at a local restaurant in town. My parents told me day after day that I didn’t have to do this but I wanted to do it for myself, to prove that I can do this and still succeed in school. This year I am not working as many jobs but I’m still a full time student and an intern at CA Technologies. This challenge was something that I created for myself showing that I can do whatever I put my mind to.

Ideal Job:
In 10 years I see myself working for a smaller company that does something I am very passionate in. I plan to work for larger companies when I graduate college but after a few years of experience I hope to find a company smaller that shares the same passion with me or is a good fit for what I love to do. I like having a group of coworkers that are close so a smaller company would be the most ideal job for me.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
If you put your mind to something you will be able to not only finish but succeed. There is nothing in this world that can stop you from becoming the best at something besides yourself. So if you want it, go get it.

Leave a Reply

