#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Pim Chuaylua

“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” Maya Angelou
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi! I’m Pim Chuaylua, a junior student majoring in computer science and political science at Duke. I’m really passionate about using technology to make a social impact. Last summer, I built Sharepui.com from scratch to provide a platform for Thai farmers to share and search organic fertilizer recipes. Right now, I’m brainstorming some ideas to build a website to educate Thai students critical thinking skills and to promote access to liberal education in Thailand.

One fun fact about me is that I really love walking! When traveling to other cities, I usually don’t take a metro. I walked almost 10 miles a day when I was in San Francisco and Boston. I also walked a mile from home in Bangkok to the nearest restaurant to save a delivery fee.

What # would define your life journey?
#justdoitnownothingisperfect

Favorite website / app:
I love reading articles on Quora about technology I’m interested in when I’m commuting. I love playing Intense Workout playlist on Spotify when running at the gym.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I feel like I’m just a copy of my dad, just like what my Thai name “Pimchanok” means. My dad always tells me not to wait for anyone to hand me opportunities. Instead, my dad always encourages me to be adventurous and to keep building my own opportunities. I guess that’s why I love to build new things and meeting new people all the time!
img_2069

Song that makes you want to dance:
Anna Sun – Walk the Moon

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In middle school in Bangkok, when anyone asked me what my plan after high school graduation, I always replied I wanted to go to universities in the States. Most of my friends at school and family suggested me not to aim too high. I usually got discouraged. However, I studied really hard, got involved in a lot of activities to improve myself and reached out to lof of people for advice. Now being at Duke, I believe what others say does not determine who you are or the limit of your potential.

Ideal Job:
I’m really interested in career in software engineering and technology consulting at the moment. My ideal job is where I can learn more about technology, interact with people and seek solutions to problems every day. In the next 10 years, I see myself applying my solid technical skills and experience from the industry to solve problems in public education and human rights.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I highly encourage everyone to trust themselves and follow what they are passionate about. It doesn’t have to be considered “cool” by anyone. The most important thing is that what you do makes you a happier and better version of yourself every day!

Leave a Reply

