#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Alice Wen

“The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it.” Chinese proverb
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Alice and I am an 3rd year undergraduate student studying at the University of California, Irvine. A random fact about me is that I love building furniture, like putting together IKEA furniture. That is my jam. I am also a major foodie, so I co-founded and am currently a writer for my college’s food organization called Spoon University.

What # would define your life journey?
I would define my life journey as #believeandachieve.

Favorite website / app:
If you know me, you will know that I love Snapchat. Got to keep up the streaks!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Someone that I look up to is Taylor Swift. Sure, she may have some questionable actions sometimes, but she stays humble and does everything with grace. No one is perfect and at the end of the day, it is how you conquer that situation. Also, she is just a strong and woman who does what she wants. That to me, is inspiring.
unnamed-9

Song that makes you want to dance:
On the topic of Taylor, I can rock out to any of her songs, but I guess if I had to choose one, I would stick with the classic “Love Story”. It’s just so catchy!

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Coming into college, I did not know what Computer Science was. Sure, I had heard of Python, C, C++, Java, but I did not know what programming was. My first quarter, a lot of my hall mates were CS majors, and were always together, making cool little programs. I decided to take a programming class the next quarter and completely fell in love with it. Technically, I was already behind. In all my classes, I interacted with people that have been programming since they were in middle or high school. And here I was, just discovering what programming was. It was intimidating, but that is also what pushed me to work harder and try to catch up to their skill levels.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
At the end of the day, everything happens for a reason. Everyone and everything you encounter makes you a more well rounded and stronger individual. The unknown is scary, but just trying your best can lead to great and surprising opportunities. Be yourself and all will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

