#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rachel Ignotofsky

“Science and everyday life cannot and should not be separated.” – Rosalind Franklin

rosalind-franklin-p79
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.

~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am an illustrator and author based in beautiful Kansas City, MO. I grew up in New Jersey on a healthy diet of cartoons and pudding. I graduated with honors from Tyler School of Art’s Graphic Design in 2011. Now I work for myself and spends all day and night drawing, writing and learning as much as I can. My work is inspired by history and science and I believe that illustration is a powerful tool that can make learning exciting.  I have a passion for taking dense information and making it fun and accessible. I hope to use my art to spread scientific literacy and stories about powerful women throughout history.

Fun Fact: I just learned how to ride a bike this year.

Funner Fact: First time I was in a newspaper was for winning  the spud- olympics at age 4 for “spiffiest spud.”

hypatia-p9
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.

 

What # would define your life journey?
Right now I have dedicated all of my time to telling some of the more unknown stories of women who have changed our world with their work. While writing Women In Science, and now Women In Sports I have learned so much about these women throughout history about their struggle, resilience and bravery to pursue their passions, I just become overwhelmed with this feeling of indebtedness. I am just so honored – in the small way that I can – to help educate people about women throughout history.

Favorite website / app:
Instagram

patricia-bath-p97
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I would say my best friend, Aditya. We grew up together and encouraged each other to “Do the work, the right way.” Having people in your life who challenge you to think about the kind of work you do and the way you do it is important.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Perfect Kiss by New Order

marie-curie-p29
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I would say going off on my own to become my own boss was the biggest challenge. There is so much fear involved in doing something new, or starting your own business. I have learned to squash that fear by earning trust with myself and by keeping promises with myself. That sounds kind of strange, but when I tell myself something needs to get done by the end of the day, I treat it as if I told an important client, even if it is just a personal project I am doing for fun. You need to build up trust with yourself, like any other relationship. That way when there is a new challenge in front of me, an impossible deadline or a big opportunity, I can trust myself to rise to the occasion. That is how I stop fear and second guessing in its tracks.

edith-clarke-p41
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.

Ideal Job:
I would love to create a platform for fun, accessible and whimsical educational materials. A library of books, and maybe even a television show. I want to become a real resource for kids, adults and teachers to be able to have fun while learning.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
The most important thing you can do is take a chance on yourself. You are a builder and a creator and your voice is important and needs to be heard.

sylvia-earle-p93
Reprinted with permission from Women in Science.
Leave a Reply

