#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Jamie Yu

“On my own I will just create, and if it works, it works, and if it doesn’t, I’ll create something else. I don’t have any limitations on what I think I could do or be.” – Oprah Winfrey
~~~~

Hi! My name is Jamie Yu, and I’m a 20-year old female engineer born and raised on the East Coast, in a suburb just 15 minutes outside of Boston, Massachusetts. I’m currently studying Biomedical Engineering and Electrical Engineering at Case Western Reserve University, in Cleveland, Ohio. I also have a passion for computer programming. That being said, my ideal job would be related to programming within medical devices and biotechnology. I think its a really interesting field where you can combine the complexity and potential of computer software with the necessity for medical solutions in healthcare. Ever since I was little, I was always a filled with creative energy. I am always interested in learning and teaching myself new things by using prior knowledge. For over thirteen years, I played piano seriously, but on the side I also taught myself how to play the guitar.
10374897_675939532443735_6708589155622057405_nI also love to cook, bake, run, and travel. I have been to China, Africa, and many countries in Central America. A fun fact about me is that I have never been to Europe. I hope to go backpacking there, in the next four years of my life! Currently, my favorite website is http://rap.genius.com/. It’s a super awesome website that looks at song lyrics, and describes the underlying messages, context, and meaning behind the words that artists write and produce. A lot of the times, I listen to songs and don’t even really understand what they are saying. When I go on this website, I am always amazed at the meaning behind the lyrics. Some of my favorite songs right now come from Frank Ocean’s new album, Blonde.
13719610_10209857641061432_1914479968091627989_o
Someone that truly inspires me is my dad. Being an Electrical Engineer himself, I grew up watching him come home from work every day and continue to tinker with computers and teach himself new things. He was also always thinking outside the box and trying to be an entrepreneur and boss of his own life. His continuous passion for computers and overall mental determination continues to fascinates me. Furthermore, he raised me with the belief that I could do anything, and to this day, that has inspired me to try for things I once thought were unachievable.
12068824_10207669318794743_791317242728381037_o

#Strong is a hashtag that defines my life journey. “Strong” is a word that holds great importance to me, because it reminds me of my obligation to myself to do the best as I can, no matter the circumstances. A lot of times you will come across obstacles in life and things that you don’t think you can overcome. I think that you can get past anything if you understand your own strength. Furthermore, you will only become stronger and stronger as you have such experiences. With that being said, I think that a good piece of advice for women in engineering to hear is that you should always be confident in yourself, no matter what the odds are. Being a woman in engineering is both special and unique, and you have just as much ability and potential as any one else. If anything, you have the ability to bring a new perspective to a male-dominant industry, and that is pretty cool!
13882142_10210020270167058_5113215887683449377_n

Leave a Reply

