#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sarah Bilich

“The way you tell your story to yourself matters.” – Amy Cuddy
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
So a bit about myself. I grew up in the East Bay Area, San Ramon to be exact. I am a third year computer science student at Cal Poly – SLO and have been living in San Luis Obispo ever since I moved down my freshman year. I love low level programming and can’t wait to learn about operating systems, computer architecture, and embedded systems in my next couple of years at Poly. In my free time I’m a technical officer for a club called Women Involved In Hardware and Software (WISH) and do a lot of outdoor activities. I enjoy running, swimming, hiking, scuba diving, and lifting weights.

Fun fact about me: I consider peanut butter a main food group.

What # would define your life journey?
#SeeItAllDoItAll

Favorite website / app:
Pinterest or Spotify
thumb_img_3889_1024

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My WISH mentor, Katelyn Hicks. She now works at Apple full-time, and is my role model. She has been there for me when deciding on classes, when I want to get coffee, or need life advice. She is such a strong woman and has taught me that you can’t try fill your life with only your career or academic accomplishments, there’s more to life than that. She has shown me that life needs balance: computer science and those activities that leave you smiling for hours after.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Brand New – Ben Rector
thumb_img_4167_1024

Ideal Job:
In ten years I’d love to be working in the industry, innovating new devices; either working on operating systems or embedded systems.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
My knowledge to impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives: Don’t let anyone talk you out of reaching for your goals. When I was in middle school I let my peers convince me that girls shouldn’t code, fortunately I found my way back to computer science later in high school. If people ever tell you that you aren’t smart enough, old enough, experienced enough, or don’t fit a particular stereotype, ignore them. Know that it takes passion and commitment, in addition to talent, to achieve goals. If you are excited about something, be excited about it! Make changes because it’s what you want to do, not because it’s what others want you to do. I wish someone would have told me that.
img_3449

Leave a Reply

