#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration

Women Who Reign: Shubheksha Jalan

“We must develop a thick skin. With an unshakeable sense of self – and a commitment to being compassionate – nothing will faze you.” – Mari Smith
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a CS senior from India. I’ll be graduating in May 2017. I’ve always been interested in Math & Science because they were the most logical subjects of all, so majoring in CS was kind of a no-brainer — I was always super curious about how a computer actually works. I really like to code & learn new things & can be found doing that during most of my free time. Apart from that, I really enjoy poetry & reading novels. I really like tennis & I am a huge Roger Federer fan!

Fun fact: I learnt dancing classical Indian dance as a kid for about 6 years in school!
image-shubheksha

What # would define your life journey?
#justDoIt
This phrase has come to play a very important role in my life lately. I’ve basically been acting on it without even realizing it consciously. I jump at every opportunity that comes my way even if chances of anything materializing are pretty bleak. It has been working out pretty well till now. It has also taught me this great lesson — don’t reject yourself even before something/someone does.

Favorite website / app:
I’ve been using Wunderlist pretty regularly and it helps me de-clutter my brain whenever things start to get out of hand.

I really love One Note and the way it has been designed to mimic an actual notebook in the closest way possible.

I’ve recently started using Journey to get into the habit of keeping & maintaining a journal.
unnamed-11

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I’ve been thinking about this one for quite sometime, but I can’t really decide on one name. I am inspired by people who stick to doing their own thing against all odds. People who will go to any length to get what they want & will stop at nothing or because of no one when they set eyes on a goal. I aspire to be like that.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Cheap Thrills (Haha, this song is addictive in such a weird way. Once you start listening to it, it’s very difficult to stop playing it on repeat).

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’ve struggle with impostor syndrome every now & then. It keeps coming & going. So many times people have told me point blank I’m where I am in life because I am a female & not because I deserve it. It’s a flip side of diversity initiatives according to them. So they brush all your hard work & hours of time invested under the carpet with one sweeping statement. However, every time I’ve been subjected to something like this, I fought back harder. I can’t change how they think but I can definitely prove them wrong.
unnamed-10

Ideal Job:
I definitely see myself working in tech 10 years down the line. My internship this summer at Microsoft made me realize how much I enjoy working & building things. So 10 years from now, I see myself as a much more mature & experienced software developer building and shipping great things in a diverse environment.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
One thing I’d like to tell all the ladies out there is — don’t conform. No matter what happens, do your own thing. If it goes right, the benefits are yours to reap. If it goes wrong, you’re to be blamed and you can’t pin it on anyone else. Don’t listen to what the society has to say about how women should & shouldn’t behave. It’s your life, live it ONLY on YOUR own terms, not someone else’s. Don’t try to fit into a someone else’s description of you & your life. If your career & financial independence is of utmost importance to you, give it everything you got & don’t let anyone make you feel bad about it just because you’re a woman.

Leave a Reply

