#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Samantha Morris

“I would rather be handsome for an hour than pretty for a week.”  – Tilda Swinton
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Why hello! I am an undergraduate honors student at the University of Central Florida studying computer science with a minor in mathematics. A fun fact about me is that I spent my summer in Iowa, 1300 miles away, researching wireless EEG technologies.

What # would define your life journey?
Definitely #nofilter. Although it can be difficult, I try to be honest with myself and live life authentically.

Favorite website / app:
I love photos, so probably Instagram.
img_7747

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I have several sources of inspiration, but I would have to say my parents and my friends. My dad has an insane work ethic, and my mom is incredibly strong and puts others first. My best friend is one of the most selfless people ever, and I surround myself with clever, giving, and kind people. I have learned from them that life is tough, so you have to fight back by giving as much and striving for as much as possible.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“The Greatest” by Sia

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A personal challenge of mine is also something I am very grateful for: I was homeschooled for 11 years, which helped me become an independent, self-sufficient, and creative individual, but it was tedious finding STEM opportunities as a homeschooler. Nonetheless, I got involved in community activities like 4-H and Science Olympiad, and I even conducted research over a summer at an NSF camp called the Young Scholars Program. Since I was already a self-starter, it was easy for me dive into organizations at UCF and indulge in the opportunities here.

Ideal Job:
Since coming to college I visualized myself working in machine learning, perhaps with a medical concentration, but lately I’ve been considering teaching abroad and working as a roller coaster engineer. Maybe I’ll do it all. Life has lots of twists and turns, and I am enjoying the ride.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Live entirely for yourself. Don’t take things personally. Be honest with yourself. Don’t take something on unless you enjoy it. Respect authority. Question everything. Get some sleep. Talk to people who disagree with you. Speak up in meetings. Smile at strangers. Don’t say “like” as a filler word. Take time for yourself. Indulge in risks. Live the life you’d like to hear about.
sbpacfleeceitup

Leave a Reply

