#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Tiffany Wong

“Take criticism seriously, but not personally. If there is truth or merit in the criticism, try to learn from it. Otherwise, let it roll right off you.” — Hillary Clinton
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am currently a Computer Science major at Drexel University and I love to eat. My favorite foods are brunch, pizza and sushi. Other interests that I have besides eating are foosball, interior design, reading and travelling. A fun fact about me is that I once ate 10 scoops of ice cream in one sitting as part of a challenge.

What # would define your life journey?
#justkeepswimming

Favorite website / app:
Yelp.com

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My parents are my inspiration. They came to America as refugees and worked hard to support themselves and eventually, me and my sister. They instilled in me an appreciation for education, hard work and resourcefulness.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Victorious by Panic! At The Disco

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A year ago, my dad was diagnosed with cancer. I remember him waking me up at 5 AM and asking me to go to the ER with him. I had to translate what the doctors were saying to my dad and the whole time I was hoping they made a mistake. When he was hospitalized, I took up all his responsibilities and it scared me. On top of that, I was in classes and working part-time so balancing everything along with taking care of my mom and my younger sister was challenging but I eventually overcame it. My dad has since recovered but that experience has taught me things will always get better if you try your best.

Ideal Job:
In 10 years, I hope to be an accomplished UX designer and visit all seven continents.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Live a life of adventure and don’t be afraid to be different.

Leave a Reply

