#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Ifunanya Favour

’“It’s never too late to try something new and find your dream, I’m proof that anyone can learn to code” –Ifunanya Ikemma
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m Ikemma ifunanya.  I am a computer science student at university of Nigeria, I’m a WTM (Women Techmaker) leader under Google Developer Group at University of Nigeria and also a web developer.

Fun fact: I smile a lot.

Why Computer Science?
Good question! I have had a mystic attraction to computers ever since I was a child. I’ve always been interested in math and solving puzzles.  In my senior year of secondary school, I had the opportunity to work as the computer laboratory attendant. At the time I started understanding how computers operate on a very detailed level, the fire in me started burning to the extent that my passion for computer grown to the apex.

When I gained admission in the University of Nigeria to study Computer Science, I came to realize that it challenges me not only academically, but to think analytically, to be innovative, as well as to have the ability to discuss and describe my work for another person to understand. I just really love writing code.
img-20160924-wa0021

What # would define your life journey?
#Grace
#codechallenge

Favorite website / app:
I love team work and I’m always ready to collaborate so definitely Slack.
img-20160909-wa0023

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Lynda Chiwetelu (Software Developer at Hotel.ng) is my biggest inspiration. She always supports me to keep on with coding. Hmmm, she has impacted me not just through knowledge but also have inspired me to succeed in this field.
20151121_114209

Song that makes you want to dance:
All about you by Anita Wilson
20151120_172415

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
It was a a battle to choose a programming language to study, but after much advices from mentors I came to realize that it’s better I specialize in one or two languages than to be a mediocre at several.
20151120_174650

Ideal Job:
Woooow, long awaited question, * Google – Software Developer*
img-20160920-wa0020

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Not really a knowledge per se but I would urge women to be steadfast in learning and learn with others because the more you learn, the more you realize that there is so much more to learn. This is what I love about coding and technology overall, so much is trending, changing and transforming that continuous learning is an inherent part of process. With that said, don’t be afraid to seek out people who are already in the system, their passion for programming can be inspiring… awww.. I will tell you.. Lynda’s passion inspired me , also go to meetups and tech events, ask technical questions and advice too and lastly I would say that you can achieve your programming goals if you set your mind , time and efforts to it.
20151120_172415-1

Leave a Reply

