#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Claudia Laurie

“Be so busy loving your life that you have no time for hate, regret or fear.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am currently a Junior at Harvard studying Architecture and Computer Science.  I consider myself a New Yorker as I have lived in New York for the past ten years, though I originally hail from Sydney, Australia (it only took one month for me to lose my accent). I have been passionate about fashion and design for many years and have recently launched my own brand that produces fashionable collegiate apparel. I would love to explore the intersection between fashion and technology, particularly in the field of VR solutions. I love to travel and have spent a lot of time in Beijing. I am particularly inspired by Chinese culture and design aesthetics.
screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-12-10-57-pm

What # would define your life journey?
#designlife or #wanderlust

Favorite website / app:
My favorite websites would probably have to be pinterest and dribbble as I constantly find the the most incredible design inspirations there. My favorite app is Within, because the way they approach VR storytelling is truly beautiful.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I really look up to Angela Ahrendts, SVP of Retail & Online Stores at Apple. I find her career story of being the CEO of Burberry and then going into a technical industry and making such an impact, bringing immense experience from her past in fashion, to be truly inspiring. She has shown how any woman can make a difference in the tech industry.
14054309_569118906621691_297018656503952308_o

Song that makes you want to dance:
Life itself by Glass Animals

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I discovered I was interested in tech more recently, in the past year, and I felt that it was too late for me to learn how to code or that I would never be able to be successful in tech. Some of my close friends really supported me and helped me learn how to develop an app, and encouraged me to take hard but really useful CS courses at school. Although the learning curve is steep, I feel empowered by pushing myself to learn skills that will help me find my way in my dream career.
13517616_10154273863059089_1243571239225666500_o

Ideal Job:
The role of being a PM sounds amazing.  I think being able to create a product and a story around the product that truly fits a market need and makes a difference, would be truly satisfying.  I would love to dive deeper into virtual reality and see how VR can merge with my interests in fashion and design. It would be incredible to create a product that integrates VR with retailing solutions.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Embrace things that may be scary or intimidating: a steep learning curve is often the best learning curve and even if you feel like the most inexperienced person in a room, that is actually awesome because it means you are learning. Even if your dream job or career seems like it is too many steps away, its better to start that journey than try and force yourself to love something that won’t help you grow and improve.
12983330_10154087869149089_1886632455071094135_o

Leave a Reply

