#WomeninSTEM · inspiration · women who reign

Date Women Who Reign: Beverly Sihsobhon

“Never limit yourself because of others’ limited imagination; never limit others because of your own limited imagination.” — Mae Jemison
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Beverly Sihsobhon, and I’m currently a Junior at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute studying Computer Science and Philosophy.

Fun Fact: One of my personal hobbies include cross-stitching! (I’ve included an image of one of my finished projects)

What # would define your life journey?
#QuestionEverything is what fits how I try to live my life. While some people might think that’s a really cynical or negative view on life, I believe that anything can be questioned, but the answers we find from our questions help us figure out the truth of things. I don’t want to be afraid to ask questions or to be afraid not believing in things that other people do. I think asking questions or questioning things really push me to be creative and to take an active role in the world around me.
20160716_112154

Favorite website / app:
I’d probably say my favorite website/app is Flipboard because it lets me find articles on topics I like from anywhere. So rather than just searching on the internet myself, I have a single place where I can discover new articles and writers on things I like to read about. The app version is pretty nice to use too 🙂

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Not that I haven’t met anyone inspiring, but I thought listing one of my favorite quotes that really registered with me when I heard it would suffice:

Logic will get you from A to Z; imagination will will get you everywhere.” which I believe was said by Albert Einstein.
counting_sheep_crossstich

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
One of the most challenging things that I’ve had to overcome (and am still trying to overcome) in life is my personal insecurity. As an only child, I didn’t know that many people when I was little. I had a hard time fitting in and finding close friends. For the longest time, I thought that there was a problem with me. That the reason why I didn’t have many friends was because I just wasn’t likable. I had to learn over time how to just be myself and content with who I am. Even if I don’t have hundreds of friends, I learned that what’s most important is being happy with yourself and finding true friends who will support you. I still face this insecurity, however, when I’m in classes and surrounded by people who know more than I do or who are better at the class than I am. It’s a learning process to understand my limits and my strengths.

Ideal Job:
This is a really hard question for me to answer, and it’s one I’ve been thinking about a lot. I think my ideal job would be one where I could really make a difference in the world and challenge myself while also achieving some kind of life balance (haha it sounds too perfect). I’d probably be in a software engineering or project manager kind of role.
1008141929

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Here’s my bit of advice: CS in school and in life sometimes starts to feel like a competition. Sometimes it feels like we’re all trying to show that we’re the best programmer in X or Y topic.  I think it’s important to realize that you are not going to be the best at everything. You might realize that you actually really suck at something.  But what’s important is to acknowledge your strengths and weaknesses and move on. Know you limits, but don’t let them hold you back from doing what you love.  On the flip side, if you realize that you don’t like something (and maybe you’re not even that great at it), then stop doing what you don’t like. I’ve seen myself make this mistake in the past where I force myself to try something or to keep doing something even if I hated it. It made me miserable.  But when I started doing things I did like, I realized that I felt good about myself and I stopped comparing myself to others. You don’t have to be good at the same languages or have the same skill sets as every other CS major out there.  Just find what you like, and go with it!

Leave a Reply

