#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Megha Bagri

“The first problem for all of us, men and women, is not to learn, but to unlearn.” — Gloria Steinem
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a B.tech undergraduate from India. My goal is to pursue a professional course and work for ia multinational company, earning a big salary so that I can shop without any boundaries 🙂

Through high school I was still very unconfident with stage fright, and technology was something I found boring (it made me feel sleepy sitting in front of a laptop). But I’ve found that in Indian families if a student is good at science and wants to pursue a career in science he/she is diverted to b.tech.

Even in first year of my college i didn’t get involved in tech much, but had to get involved regardless.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Gradually I started inclining towards tech, some credit going to my boyfriend as well. I did face failures, but who doesn’t face them? This was totally new to me but i just worked relentlessly. Initially I didn’t have good results but slowly and over time that improved. I saw people having misconceptions that females coders are not equivalent to male coders: I even saw this within some male faculty members and male classmates, which felt a little demeaning.

Being in girls college gave me chance to try out every field I wanted, which always helps if you really don’t have an idea whether you are good at something. That way you get to know whether you enjoy doing that thing or not and wanna take it further.

If you wait for the right time it never comes. Thinking too much kills the spirit.

I tried and eventually found that tech is something I wanna take further in life. Today I am a girl who can sit 12 hours in front of my laptop coding, designing, surfing and I enjoy doing it. So girls who thinks that they are not meant for technology just because of the mindset of society should come forward and at least give it a shot. Women need not be an idol of nurturing and caring.

Ideal Job:
I see myself working in silicon valley after 10 years.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Women should be more confident in the way they lead their lives and technology can help you achieve it. If you hesitate speaking in public, write blogs. There is a whole load of opportunity waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

