#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration

Women Who Reign: Carolyn Beranek

“The most effective way to do it, is to do it.” — Amelia Earhart
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Carolyn and I am 20 years old, majoring in computer science (along with minors in business and peace & justice) at Villanova University (Go Cats!!). I’m super involved on campus and love to spend my (small amount of) free time catching up on news, getting involved with things I care about (I’ve actually been fairly involved with the current presidential election), cooking, baking, and watching Netflix (currently The Office is my show of choice)! My go-to fun fact is that sharks are my favorite animal!
img_1112

What # would define your life journey?
#AlwaysBusy

Favorite website / app:
I’m a really big fan of Snapchat because it’s a quick way to get a glimpse into peoples’ lives.
brooms-bloom

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
She’s not a real person, but Leslie Knope from Parks and Rec is super inspirational to me. Her passion for the work that she does and the time she spends making sure everything is perfect are things that I really want to be able to bring into my own life.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I’m a huge fan of Panic! At The Disco’s new album, Death of a Bachelor, and the song Don’t Threaten Me With a Good Time on that album always makes me wanna get up and dance
img_2954

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I really struggle with the idea that everyone is better/more qualified/smarter than I am and that I’m incapable of doing certain things. I think a lot of it stems from the fact that computer science is not my whole life; I have other interests and hobbies that I’m passionate about, and I like to spend my time doing them as well. I’m definitely not coding 24/7 and sometimes that has made me feel like I’m not a “real” programmer. I think that over time I’ve come to realize that it’s more important to me that I’m a well rounded person who’s doing things that I enjoy. I love programming, and I spend a good amount of time doing it, but I also love cooking, going out with friends, reading about current events, getting socially/politically involved, volunteering, and a whole slew of other things. It doesn’t make me less of a programmer because I’m not spending every second of every day writing code.

Ideal Job:
I definitely see myself in a leadership position somewhere. Probably in some type of managerial role. Since a young age I’ve always tended to gravitate towards leading and organizing people, and I want to be able to combine my technical skills with this natural inclination some time in the future.
img_3342

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Do what makes you happy!! I really believe that if you enjoy what you’re doing and are happy about what you’re doing that you will end up doing a much better job on whatever it is you’re working on, and you’ll have a much better time doing it!

Leave a Reply

