#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Shannon McIntosh

“I just love bossy women. I could be around them all day. To me, bossy is not a pejorative term at all. It means somebody’s passionate and engaged and ambitious and doesn’t mind learning.” –Amy Poehler
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a third year Software Engineer. I’ve worked HubSpot as a front-end developer, and Microsoft for backend. I grew up saying that I’d never work with computers.  I didn’t want to be a cave troll coding in a basement, and computers always broke on me. They still break, but now I know why (sometimes).

What # would define your life journey?
#AllTheWayUp
img_2016-09-08-22_36_21

Favorite website / app:
Instagram: because a picture is worth a thousand words and I don’t like to read.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
About 70% of what I know about programing I learned from my mentor, who is also my brother-in-law
img_0491-1

Unique Skill:
maple syruping

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Biggest challenge is fighting the imposter syndrome. I feel like no matter how much you learn, or how far you go, there’s always that feeling of doubt.
img_1956

Ideal Job:
What I do now, just working remotely from the beach

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Tell people what you want, then they can give it to you, or help you get there.

Leave a Reply

