inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Nora Poggi + Insiyah Saeed, She Started it

We’re very excited to feature Nora and Insiyah today – founders of She Started it, a documentary film empowering the next generation of women founders! Their review in the Huffington Post summarized it perfectly: “Nora Poggi and Insiyah Saeed are trying to change what young women think they are capable of by taking a closer look at the lives of female entrepreneurs. The journalists’ documentary, “She Started It,” attempts to answer an age-old question: “How does she do it?”

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Nora: I am from France, and moved to San Francisco 5 years ago. I am passionate about education, film and women empowerment! Fun fact: I did not study filmmaking but political science, yet I am now a documentary filmmaker. You can do whatever you put your mind to!:)

Insiyah: I grew up in the Midwest, lived in NYC, and found myself out here in the Bay Area around 6 years ago. I covered tech as a journalist and learned tons of eye-opening things when I moved here. I had experience working on films, but this was my first feature film – something we just dived into. Fun Fact: I have done three Startup Weekends.

What # would define your life journey?

Nora: #shestartedit !!

Insiyah: Insiyah: #changetheratio, #shestartedit, #Imwithher

Favorite website / app:
Nora: Medium, Instagram, Twitter, and obsessed with Buzzfeed, EW and NYT

Insiyah: The Wirecutter, now bought by the New York Times.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Nora: All the young women in our film! Thuy, Stacey, Sheena, Brienne and Agathe. I’m also a huge fan of Claressa Shield, the youngest, first female boxer and African-American to win gold at the Olympics when boxing Olympics opened to women. She was just 17 in 2012 and won again this year!

Insiyah: Ann-Miura Ko and Christine Herron (listening to them speak, a world of info; tons more).
nora-profile

Song that makes you want to dance:
Girls run the world – Beyonce
Work – Rihanna

Insiyah: Spice Girls, Wannabe! (an oldie but goldie).

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:

Nora: Not being able to find a job nor a visa to stay in the US in 2012, which led me to take the biggest risk of my life and creating this documentary film on women entrepreneurs, she started it. The challenge forced me to face myself and what I really wanted to do – instead of looking for a job, I ended up creating my own, but it took more than 3 years to get there!

Insiyah: Our documentary was a huge undertaking that we did and I’m proud of overcoming the hurdles to get there. Best thing was to have a partner thrown in the same mess. Two heads are better than one!

Ideal Job:

Nora: Making more films and impacting the world with it! Maybe also a teacher.

Insiyah: Would love to be part a of a social impact startup, create more films on women!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Nora: Be yourself, as hard is it may be, listen to your gust instinct and be gentle with yourself.

Insiyah: It’s not as hard as you think!

Leave a Reply

