#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Marianne Linhares

“It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but even more to stand up to your friends.” — J.K. Rowling
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hey everyone, my name is Marianne Linhares, I’m from Brazil and I’m a Computer Science undergraduate student at the Universidade Federal de Campina Grande and currently a fellow coach at the Paraíba State Olympiad in Informatics.

Things I’m passionate about: my friends and family, education, math, music, code, pizza, video games, this video, and helping people (in no particular order, but pizza first haha).
Things I just don’t tolerate: prejudice, ignorance, a closed mind and a closed heart.

Fun fact about me: I’ve played the electric guitar since I was 11 years old. At that time I specifically wanted to learn to play the electric guitar instead of acoustic guitar because I was really into rock’n’roll and I wanted to be a rock star (I still really want this though).

Since then music has been very present in my life, once in awhile I upload some covers of me playing guitar and other instruments on my soundcloud, I have a lot of playlists on Spotify (humbly, they’re awesome) and I’m currently learning to play keyboard!
main-3

Favorite website / app:
Tough one! I love a lot of apps, but if I had to choose my favorite right now I would have to say Fabulous, it’s a life changing app that makes life an awesome journey and helps people to be the best that they can be 🙂

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mother taught me that it’s important to listen to how people grow with each experience, become better people and contribute more to others around them, making it a better world for everyone. My sister taught me that hard work and perseverance are the key to success.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Tough one again! But this week my favorite song to chill and dance around is Awkward by San Cisco.

Ideal Job:
I don’t know exactly what I want to be working on in 10 years, but a thing I can see clearly about my future is that I want to be a professor and impact and change the life of my students and give back at least a little bit, given how much my professors have transformed my life.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
There’s nothing you can’t do: there are only the things you believe you can’t do.

Surround yourself with awesome people that support you and support them back!
action2

One thought on “Women Who Reign: Marianne Linhares

Leave a Reply

