#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Gloriane Tran

“Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. The fearful are caught as often as the bold.” — Helen Keller
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a third year at Mills College studying Computer Science. I am a Gates Millennium Scholar and the current President of the Mills Computer Club. Coming into college, I planned on majoring in public policy and dreamed of working for the government. But, I decided to challenge myself and take a STEM course, which turned out to be Intro to Computer Science. I fell in love with the problem solving, creativity, and endless learning. Currently, I am looking for a way to integrate my passion for social justice with my tech background. In my free time, I like to admire the beauty of giraffes.
img_9795-1

What # would define your life journey?
#resilient
As a first generation college student I struggled with balancing my family and education. There were a lot of obstacles, but with each obstacle I grew stronger and matured. I believe that if you keep staying positive then you can overcome any block in the road.
img_0388

Favorite website / app:
Facebook messenger, because the design is simple and with the stickers, you can make any conversation with your friend more fun.
img_7679

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Sabrina Kwist, a director of my summer program at Mills when I was a rising first year. She inspires me everyday with her work ethic, enthusiasm, and meaningful speeches. She taught me how to survive college, practicing self-care, but also working hard to achieve my goals.
img_0390

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
During my first year, I faced an identity crisis. I knew I wanted to help my community back home, but I did not know how to achieve that as a Computer Science major. While struggling with myself, I connected with a Mills Alumni, Cole, who was working on her startup, Brioxy. Brioxy is an online platform providing tools and assistance to people of color. I interned with the company, and saw first hand how tech and social justice can be integrated. My goal after graduation is to find a company where my work can positively make a difference in a community.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is one where I can integrate my computer science skillset with my passion for social justice.
img_1801

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Jump at every opportunity, because you never know where that opportunity could take you.

Leave a Reply

