education · inspiration · school · STEM · tech tools · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Natalie Hampton

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.” – Aesop

~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!

sit-with-us-app
Download the app!

Hi! My name is Natalie and I’m a 16-year-old in Los Angeles. I am the creator of Sit With Us, a free lunch planning app used to promote inclusion in schools. I am an anti-bullying speaker, equal rights activist, and am currently working to start bullying prevention programs in schools around the country.

My fun fact is that I’ve never eaten a kiwi before! 😛


What # would define your life journey?

#spreadkindness


Favorite website / app:

Foremost, I am 100% a snapchat addict. (I even have a 450-day streak!) Other than that, I love taking quizzes on Buzzfeed, scrolling through Instagram, or finding cool articles on The Huffington Post.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:

I am very inspired by my mom, who has always taught me to work hard and pursue my goals no matter what. She is an amazing lawyer, photographer, wife and, mother, and her strength continues to inspire me every day.

 

Song that makes you want to dance:

Rock With You by Michael Jackson

 

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:

snip20161201_88At my old school, I was pretty severely bullied. I was cyberbullied, verbally bullied, physically attacked four separate times, and sat alone at lunch every day. I felt awful about myself during that time and was always so afraid to go to school because I never knew if I was going to be hurt again. However, once I was able to transfer schools, I made it my duty to always invite kids sitting alone to my table. This small action really made a huge difference in their lives and some of those kids are now my closest friends. This experience inspired me to create my app, Sit With Us, because I wanted to bring people together and help prevent bullying on a larger scale.

 

natalie-gma
Natalie Hampton was featured on Good Morning America in October 2016.

Ideal Job:

I am incredibly fascinated by the human body and it’s functions, especially the brain. My dream is to become a neuroscientist, so I could spend my life learning more and more about our body’s most powerful organ.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?

I was able to turn my negative experience into a positive one, and you can too. If you see a need in your community, do something about it. Don’t let anyone tell you that you’re too young to create change. Get out there and accomplish it. I believe that if we spread kindness out into the world, it comes back to us. Even if you don’t use the app, you can embody the spirit of Sit With Us by inviting someone who is sitting alone to join you. You never know – your future best friend might be sitting at the next table.


Learn more about Sit With Us!

Like Sit With Us on Facebook.

Follow on Instagram: @sit.with.us & @natalie_evelyn.

Follow Twitter: @nobodyeatsalone.

And spread kindness!


Check out this video clip of Natalie Hampton on Good Morning America!

Leave a Reply

