inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Chelsea Conard

“Don’t let your fear of the past affect the outlook of your future. Live for what tomorrow has to bring, not what yesterday has taken away.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hello! My name is Chelsea and I am a junior studying Economics and Computer Science at DePauw University. On campus, I’m the president of Women in Economics and Business, a member of Women in Computer Science, in a business program, in an honors technology program, and a member of Alpha Phi. I really overload my schedule because I believe in maximizing every day and I’m trying to chase down my passion. So a fun fact, is that I’ve decided to move abroad for a year to learn more about myself. I’m currently writing from Berlin, as an intern at an international consultancy firm, and I am moving to Shanghai at the end of January for 6 months.

What # would define your life journey?
#boundless

Making the decision to move to countries where I don’t speak the languages or know a single person is a huge risk. And to make the decision, let alone think about the decision, alongside many dissenters made me insecure. But I think that if it’s on your mind, you should definitely pursue it. And I know I would have regretted this if I didn’t just give it a chance.

Sheryl Sandberg said “If you’re offered a seat on a rocket ship, don’t ask what seat. Just get on.” I think we should go after what we’re looking for, especially if it scares us.
chelsea4

Favorite website / app:
Podcasts!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My inspiration has always come from my two sisters. I would not be who I am without them. My sisters are my support system and have taught me that it is okay to reach out for help. They push me when they know I need to hear tough news and they give me advice without me even asking for it. They inspire me because they always try. And if things don’t go their way, they take the time to reflect on the experience so they can improve. It brings me to tears to watch them speak about people they love or topics they’re interested in because they devote themselves to it and you can see their souls beam through their eyes. They commit to their passions and they won’t give up. But what’s most inspiring about my sisters, is that they believe in something bigger than themselves. They care about other people and will ask others how they are doing before they ever speak about themselves. Their generosity has inspired me to do things I could have never imagined and I can never thank them enough. If you’re reading this, I hope you remember how much of a difference you can make if you just reach out to someone to see how they’re doing. Take a genuine interest in others because you have the power to change their lives.
chelsea2

Song that makes you want to dance:
At the moment, Final Song by MØ and The Ocean by Mike Perry and Shy Martim

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Managing a lot at once. It’s always been a challenge, but I’ve overcome it by writing out my thoughts and taking things one step at a time. And reflect! Don’t forget to look back and see how much you have accomplished. Count little victories.

Ideal Job:
I’m still adventuring, but an optimal position would offer leadership in business and technology. I hope it’ll give me a platform to inspire other women and give back to those who have inspired me.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be comfortable being uncomfortable. You are capable of amazing things and it all starts with just one risk and a little faith.
chelsea1

Leave a Reply

