#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Hannah Stulberg

“Aerodynamically, the bumble bee shouldn’t be able to fly, but the bumble bee doesn’t know it so it goes on flying anyway.” – Mary Kay Ash
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I hail from Seattle, WA and consider myself to be a Pacific Northwest native. I am currently a junior at the University of Pennsylvania where I am studying Management (with a focus on Organizational Effectiveness) at the Wharton School while also completing a Masters in Computer and Information Technology from the School of Engineering and Applied Science. I am on the board of Penn Women in Computer Science, the Vice-President of the Wharton Undergraduate Data Analytics Club, a TA for Penn’s introductory computer science course, and a Project Manager for Penn’s software development course. I also am organizer for Penn Tech Trek – an annual trip to Silicon Valley that gives 16 Penn students the opportunity to explore career opportunities at a variety of start-ups, major technology companies, and venture capital firms in the Bay Area. I interned at Microsoft this past summer where I had the opportunity to work in Skype for Business!

Fun Fact: I am a hot sauce enthusiast! I put hot sauce onto almost every that I eat and keep on-the-go backs of Frank’s and Sriracha in my backpack.

What # would define your life journey?
#NeverStopExploring
img_0126

Favorite website / app:
I’m obsessed with the New York Times app! I think it is really important to stay informed on current events and I love being able to consume news while on the go. This app allows me educate myself whenever I have a few minutes to spare – an asset that I have found super useful as an on-the-go college student.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Sheryl Sandberg, Adam Grant, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, J.K. Rowling, Hayao Miyazaki, Beyonce, Theodore Herzl and Emma Watson to name a few.

Song that makes you want to dance:
This changes on an almost weekly basis but currently can’t get enough of Closer by The Chainsmokers.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
As someone passionate about closing the gender gap in tech, one of the biggest challenges that I have faced is working to combat Imposter Syndrome. Many girls in STEM fields (especially computer science) feel inadequate and believe that they have arrived in their current position through luck rather than skill. Imposter Syndrome is a major contributing factor to female attrition from STEM fields. Mentorship and community are two key ways to help women overcome the feelings associated with Imposter Syndrome. In my role as a Teaching Assistant, I try to inspire confidence in my female students and provide extra support if necessary to make sure that they feel comfortable in the class and in the industry. Through Penn Women in Computer Science, I help to build a community of female engineers who can support each other and help push each other toward success in this industry.
img_7345

Ideal Job:
Any job where I am challenged on a daily basis, have the opportunity to grow technically and personally, and am able to make a positive impact on the lives of others. I currently see Product Management roles as the prime way to fulfill these desires and am interested in exploring this area for my early career. I am motivated by the idea of working on technology that will be beneficial to the life of the everyday consumer.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Approach life with a smile! A positive attitude and willingness to learn will take you farther than any amount of skill or talent. Also, the best way to REIGN in your own life is to help others REIGN in theirs! Try to help at least one person every single day – small acts of kindness can often have the biggest impact.

Leave a Reply

