#WomeninSTEM · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rebekah Houser

“When we do the best we can, we never know what miracle is wrought in our life, or in the life of another.”
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a first year graduate student pursuing a PhD in Computer and Electrical Engineering with a concentration in Computer Systems. I have a bachelor’s of electrical engineering from the University of Delaware, which is also where I am studying for my PhD. I work on research with vehicle-to-grid systems, and infrared scene projectors. My fun fact is that my first major as an undergrad was Interior Design.

What # would define your life journey?
#TheRoadLessTraveled

Favorite website / app:
bbc.com/news/world
Favorite app: Torque (vehicle diagnostics)

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My mother has inspired me probably more than anyone I know. Her examples of creativity, perseverance, and delight in learning have shaped me in ways that helped me to become a better engineer. She taught me how to take initiative, think critically, and look for answers.

ENGR-CPEG_222-Robot_Race
Students in Dr. Chengmo Yang’s Microprocessor Systems course (CPEG 222) holding a robot competition in the center hallway of DuPont Hall. The students assembled, customized, and programmed the robots which raced down a track of black tape guided by infrared (IR) sensors.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Immortals Fall Out Boy

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I grew up in without much exposure to engineering, and after high school I was convinced I could not ever understand basic electrical principles. I started to overcome that lack of confidence by taking classes for electricians while I was still majoring in interior design. Those classes helped me realize that I could actually understand, and made me want to learn more.

Ideal Job:
It is hard to pick out one ideal job. I definitely want to be working on problems with a global scope.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
You have never really failed as long as you keep trying.

Leave a Reply

