#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Divya Mehta

“A lot of people are afraid to say what they want. That’s why they don’t get what they want.” – Madonna
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Divya and I’m a Junior at Princeton University, studying Computer science. Originally born in India, I am now a resident of the great state of NJ. I am extremely passionate about start-ups and using CS to make our everyday lives easier.

Fun Fact: I have been dancing since I was 3 years old. I have trained professionally in both classical Ballet as well as Indian Classical dance. Additionally, I am a member of two dance groups on campus, BAC Hip-Hop and Naacho: South Asian dance company.

What # would define your life journey?
#TrialAndError

Favorite website / app:
getPlan.co
Plan was built and founded by a close friend of mine who is currently taking time off school to pursue this great endeavor. Plan helps me organize everything in my hectic life from assignments, to dance rehearsals, to networking events and more.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My Introduction to Programming Systems professor, Jennifer Rexford. She taught me a great deal about the origin of CS and is an inspiration to all women in the field as she has accomplished so much.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Kill em with Kindness by Selena Gomez
img_0114

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I think the biggest life challenge for me was deciding my major coming into college. I was enrolled in the engineering program but I had no idea what major I felt passionate about or what I saw myself doing long run. I overcame this uncertainty by forcing myself to experiment with different courses and pushed myself to elect classes outside of my comfort zone. That was in fact how I stumbled upon CS and I am so happy with my decision.

Ideal Job:
Ideally, I hope that in 10 years I would have mustered up enough courage to found my own start-up using my technical skills/experience.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.

As cheesy as it sounds, I often used to shy away from attempting thing or count myself out because I didn’t believe I was qualified enough to even try. I realize now that although I may not be the best at programming or anything else for that matter, not trying pretty much guarantees failure.

_______________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

