#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Claire Noble

“The day will come when men will recognize woman as his peer, not only at the fireside, but in councils of the nation. Then, and not until then, will there be the perfect comradeship, the ideal union between the sexes that shall result in the highest development of the race.”  – Suan B. Anthony
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a 3rd year Web & Mobile Computing Major at Rochester Institute of Technology. I am closely involved in Women in Computing at RIT, I started as just a member and was made into the Head of the Projects Committee in the second half of my 2nd year. This year I am the Webmaster, I have been gunning for it since I first realized that there was a position. I’m also the treasurer for Space Time Adventures at RIT, the local Sci-fi Club.

What # would define your life journey?
If I had a #(hashtag) to describe by life journey it would be #GetUpAndKeepTrying, there have been rough times in my life where life got me down and I just wanted to stay there, but you can’t keep dwelling on failures and you need to get up and keep trying your best.
20160408_161049

Favorite website / app:
My favorite website is probably tvtropes.org. Its bit of a silly one but I love to go on the site and look up shows an movies I watched recently and just get lost in all the knowledge. A bit like how when you go to Wikipedia and just get lost in the looking up a new thing and end up somewhere completely different from where you began.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Someone who inspires me is Margaret Hamilton, the first time I had even heard of her was a picture online of her standing next to all the code she wrote that made the Apollo 11 mission possible. Just thinking about how she succeeded despite software engineering not being taken seriously and all the difficulty she faced really inspires me.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Friday Night Gurus by Studio Killers, or any sort of Electro-pop or Electro-swing.
11252445_1075724152478262_6035233704777192287_o

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I think one of my greatest challenges was when I was still in high school. Over the summer of my junior year I became an unpaid, excluding free lunch, intern at a startup that consisted of just 1 room making educational apps. I had owned a mac at the time while all the other interns were running Windows so I was ask to do iOS development. I’d never even touched any sort of mobile development much less objective-C at this point, but I was going to learn. I had a sort of mentor, Christina, but she only worked part-time and had more important work than teaching a 16-year old how to use Xcode. Despite that I kept working, going through tutorials and eventually using the Facebook API to allow people to login. It was extremely rewarding to have a bit of my own code being put out into production.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is one where I am able to utilize both my design and coding skills into a project and make a real impact.
12764639_1044222475648197_8767110551820206023_o

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Some knowledge I’d like to impart for women to REIGN in their lives is to never give up. You may feel discouraged that you didn’t get the interview or didn’t get the job or didn’t pass the class, but those things don’t define who you really are. So always get up and keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

