#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Courtney Rogers

“A strong woman understands that the gifts such as logic, decisiveness, and strength are just as feminine as intuition and emotional connection. She values and uses all of her gifts.” – Nancy Rathburn
~~~~
courtneywithfriends

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Courtney Rogers and I am a third year Computational Media major at Georgia Tech. I aspire to work with a company that works toward making computing more of a day-to-day appliance, so that its users can transform more day-to-day possibilities into realities. With my frontend development skills (such as animation, web development, and awesomeness), I’m not sure exactly what I’ll do, but I’ll probably love it.

What # would define your life journey?
#whyNot #noHarmButNoBS
justcourtney

Favorite website / app:
Website: Sway – OMG it makes it look like you tried really hard to make a presentation but it took two seconds and a “remix” button

App: Nike Training and Run apps: I do triathlons and these apps make plans and adjust to my hectic college life and adjust to me a human omgeee!
courtneycnn

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Imogen Heap. She is my favorite artist and she makes music [literally MAKES] in a whole new way. She is weird and quirky and unsure of literally everything but she is okay with it. Being the weirdo I am, her existence is all the knowledge I need.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Little Swing by AronChupa
courtneyandfriends

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I came from a performing arts high school and have been training for Broadway [the acting side mostly] for half of my life. As soon as college options came around, I freaked and decided that Computer Science [I’d been coding for fun since junior year] would be what I will do with my life. So, my life challenge has mostly been the battle between two Courtneys and reminding myself that the career path I’m choosing was not a mistake. I don’t have to choose one side of myself.

Ideal Job:
Ideally, I’d like to have some senior position [like CEO I dunno] at Pixar. I strongly believe that the movies/shows I watched ad roleplayed as a child helped me believe in myself in such a way that I have the confidence to do or be anything. Children are little sponges who will eventually rule the world, so I want to encourage them to reach their potential and be good people (especially to oldies like me).
courtneythequeen

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
FIND A FRIEND. Every queen/CEO/president/leader has a right-hand man. Any road you choose will not be easy but a good BFF will push you toward your best self, whether you want to be pushed or not.

Leave a Reply

