#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Kiley Delaney

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Kiley Delaney, and I’m a junior computer science/applied math major at Macalester College in Minnesota. I’m from the Chicago area originally, but I have a serious dose of wanderlust – I spent the summer in New York for an internship, and I hope to be able to live in a bunch of different places before I settle down anywhere.

I came to computer science relatively late – I had never actually programmed before my freshman year. I came into college unsure of what exactly I wanted to study, so I tried out a bunch of different classes: English, Spanish, math, etc. Then I took an introductory CS course and just fell in love. I’ve always loved both math and writing/language, and programming seemed like the ideal way to meld the two.

A fun fact about me is that I LOVE to read. I never go anywhere without a book (I haven’t since I first learned to read), and I love giving book recommendations. I read widely and voraciously, and one of my favorite things in life is someone telling me that they loved a book I recommended.
img_0333

What # would define your life journey?
#doyou
I’ve always been shy and bookish, which meant that I often felt weird and out of place while I was growing up – like I was on the periphery of some fabulous party that I hadn’t been invited to. However, I never considered trying to change what made me happy, and I’m so grateful to my younger self for that. In college, I’ve found people who are like me and don’t think I’m an antisocial freak because I genuinely enjoy school and other nerdy pursuits. Hang on to what makes you *you*, and people who dig whatever that is will follow.
smbo0518

Favorite website / app:
I love Duolingo! You can choose from a bunch of languages to learn, take a placement test to determine your level, and choose how much time per day you want to devote to learning your new language. Then the app sends you a daily notification to complete your 15 minutes (or however long you choose) of lessons. I’ve used it to practice my Spanish now that I’m no longer taking daily lessons, and I’m trying to learn Dutch (although that’s proving a bit harder)!
img_0727

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Samantha Bee inspires me – she is so sharp, smart, and funny, and she never punches down.
img_0683

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Satisfied,” from HAMILTON – I’m a total musical theatre geek, and Hamilton is my everything.
img_0341

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
See above, re: feeling out of place but choosing to stay true to myself.

Ideal Job:
I would love to be working as a software developer, living in some huge and amazing city like New York, London, or Amsterdam (I’d love to try living abroad)!
img_0744

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Try things that scare you. A lot of the best things in my life have come as a result of trying new things, and at the very least you’ll never wonder what your life would have been like if you had tried that thing.

Leave a Reply

