#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rachel Auslander

“Young girls are told you have to be the delicate princess. Hermione taught them that you can be the warrior.” – Emma Watson

 

Tell us a little about yourself along with a fun fact.

Hi! I’m Rachel Auslander. I was born in London, lived in New Jersey and moved to Florida three years ago. I am a junior in high school. I am a teen advisor for Girl Up, and founded CoderGals, an organization that organizes free after school workshops where high school girls teach elementary school girls how to code. A fun fact is that I play the ukulele!

 

What # (hashtag) would define your life journey?

#getinvolved

 

Favorite website / app:

Twitter!

 

screen-shot-2016-12-21-at-4-03-36-pmSomeone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:

A lot of people inspire me! These include my mom, Liz Plank, Pardis Sabeti, Tracy Chou, Hermione Granger, Tavi Gevinson, and Malala Yousafzai.

Liz Plank said that if everyone likes you, you’re not making change. By making change, you are going to upset the people who may benefit from the status quo. You can’t always make everyone happy. I think that it is so important to remember this, because it can be scary to go against the tide.

Song that makes you want to dance:

Dancing With Myself” by Billy Idol

dsc_3693

Technical and/or life challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:

I was discouraged when I first learned how to code and none of my female friends were interested. I lost interest in coding in middle school but regained interest once I saw its applications and potential for how it can help change the world. I founded CoderGals (www.codergals.org) because I didn’t want other girls to feel alone in their interest in STEM and lose interest because of a lack of community.

 

Ideal job / where you see yourself in 10 years:

I want to use science and technology to help solve inequalities that people face around the world.

 

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?

You don’t have to be perfect or an expert at something to do it. The hardest part is starting. If you’re really passionate about something, everything will follow if you work hard. You don’t have to know everything (and you never will!). Get comfortable being uncomfortable, because you can do great things when you are out of your comfort zone!

 

Learn more about Rachel! Follow her on Twitter: @rachausland and follow CoderGals, Twitter/Facebook/Instagram  @CoderGals.

Leave a Reply

