#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Rory Cosio

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with” -Jim Rohn

~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Rory Cosio, I am a co-founder of CodElla.org which is a Stem-coding-entrepreneurship organization for underprivileged hispanic girls. This year I also co-founded SheTech Miami which is a stem entrepreneurship conference for middle school girls in Miami. I am currently an honors student at Carrollton, an all girls catholic school, in Miami but will be spending the next 6 months at ALA a South African entrepreneurship and leadership boarding school.

What # would define your life journey?
#gogetter

Favorite website / app:
Uber, Snapchat, Instagram, codella.org, all news apps, ibooks

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
While there have been many women that have inspired me along the way one of my biggest inspirations has been Sheryl Sandberg who is the COO of Facebook and founder of LeanIn.org. What has inspired me the most about Mrs. Sandberg has been her ability to identify opportunities and trends as well as help them to grow. I am also impressed with her desire to help other women achieve their own success while at the same time helping the less fortunate through her not for profit endeavors.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Who Says” by Selena Gomez

unknown-7Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
A challenge I have faced is my age. Although I have a strong  interest in coding and entrepreneurship it was not easy to find organizations that provided hands on learning. While I struggled with online courses I though that one day I would like to help provide an easier path for middle school girls. The way that I was able to overcome this challenge was by patterning with an older person who shared my same interests and vision. I also started my first coding and entrepreneurship camp at an afterschool program where i had previously volunteered where they knew me and my capabilities.

Ideal Job:
My ideal job would be to own my own company that specializes in different branches of technology. I would love to be able to work in all types of tech fields. I would also be interested in working for companies such as Facebook or Snapchat as I have grown up around social media and it has had a large impact in my life.

What do you think sets you apart from other women involved in tech?
Even though I am relatively young I never allow that to to stop me from pursuing my goals or from seeing help and advice from others.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
It is never too early or too late to do something. In order to achieve something you just need to take the first step. It is important to constantly be reading up on and trying out new technology in order to forecast upcoming trends.

Learn more about Rory! Check out www.codella.org and
follow her on Insta, Facebook, Twitter- codellainnovate

Leave a Reply

