#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Caitlin Kantor

“Leadership is not about men in suits. It is a way of life for those who know who they are and are willing to be their best to create the life they want to live.” — Kathleen Schafer
~~~~

img_0944

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Fun fact: I can flip my tongue upside down and this is very helpful in knotting cherry stems!
ck3

What # would define your life journey?
#alwayspersevere
img_1856

Favorite website / app:
Youtube
ck5

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
“Passion is great, but passion without purpose is aimless.”  ~Jack Dorsey
ck10

Song that makes you want to dance:
Mr. Brightside by the Killers
ck6

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I struggled academically in early elementary school and it took me a long time to break free of the feelings of failure.  I had to learn what I liked, what I was willing to fight for, and how to get myself there. Nothing came easily, but I got more involved in sports where I had to work really, REALLY hard to become an athlete. I swam but all of my school friends played soccer and that is where I wanted to follow. My mom wanted me to stick with swimming because she saw how it helped me grow stronger. I was in the 25th percentile for height and less than 5th percentile for weight and I was so cold in the pool I wore a wetsuit. I bobbed in the water like a cork until I finally took it upon myself to take off the wetsuit because I wanted to progress with the other kids onto swim team. Similarly in soccer I enjoyed being with my friends but when it came time to split into recreational or progress towards more competitive levels, my soccer coach told me I wasn’t good enough to progress to more competitive levels so I became a goalkeeper on a recreational team. Fast forward through all the hard work and I was recruited and played at a very elite level of travel soccer while improving myself academically.

I learned that I love to figure out how to solve problems and what it means to work through your challenges and be able to help others. One thing I am proud of: I combined my passion for soccer to solve the problem of inclusion in sports by wrapping a discussion about inclusive practices around a game of Bubble Soccer:
img_1506

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Learn to advocate for yourself, it’s ok to be afraid, just build a network you can lean on when you need support.
boxtour2016

Leave a Reply

