#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Nneoma Oradiegwu

“Do not wait on a leader…look in the mirror, its you!” – Katherine Miracle
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi, I’m Nneoma! I am a sophomore, born and raised in Texas, studying Computer Science in the Midwest at Northwestern University. I am a Co-Pre College Initiative Chair (PCI) for my school’s chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE). We work to plan events and interact with minority students in the Chicagoland area to get them interested in STEM. My goal is to make sure that these students can see themselves reflected in STEM and never doubt their ability to succeed.

Additionally, I’m involved in WiC (Women in Computing) a group here on campus striving to increase the presence and voice of women studying in computing fields on campus and beyond.

I also interned at Facebook this summer, where I learned that computer science and the tech field is the path for me and that the Bay Area is way cooler and more beautiful in person.

Fun fact: I love mangoes. Give me a mango and make my day.
IMG_2683.JPG

What # would define your life journey?
#keepmovingforward

Favorite website / app:
Definitely Spotify. I love music. It can make me calm, fire me up, and bring me closer to those around me. Listening to music with Spotify is especially great. Particularly with their new Daily Mix playlists that use data about your most listened to and liked songs to curate a few new playlists everyday. It’s currently my favorite way to discover new tracks and fall back into old favorites!

Song that makes you want to dance:
It was a little tough to make the distinction between songs that I simply like and songs that I can genuinely dance to (as opposed to groove to, of which I have tons). That being said, I have to pick Fall In Love by GoldLink. It’s the first song I listen to on my walk to class every morning. I can look a little funny vibing to it and dancing down the street, but it has been super effective in getting me pumped up and awake for my 9:30am and that is no easy task.
IMG_4183.JPG

Ideal Job:
I think tech is at its best when we use it to positively affect the world around us and I want to use my career to do just that.

I want to build something really cool and really useful. Then I want travel the world and tell people – especially underrepresented people – about that super cool and useful thing, and show them that they too can build something really cool and really useful. That’s my kind of super generic description of the kind of role I see myself in in the future. I don’t quite know those specifics yet, because I find that my predictions are never quite as accurate or good as what actually happens.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
1. Be fearless. I haven’t quite reached this mark yet, but I will always promote it. It’s a goal I have for myself and one that leads me to take more knowledgeable risks, risks that I feel have positively affected my life.

2. Don’t fear failure. Or at least understand and appreciate the wealth of knowledge that can come from it. Failure sucks. But give it a little time and you might find that it can be a pretty great motivator to keep you growing, learning, and moving forward!
IMG_3405.JPG

Leave a Reply

