#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Alexandra DeLucia

“No country can ever truly flourish if it stifles the potential of its women and deprives itself of the contributions of half of its citizens.” — Michelle Obama
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a student at Rollins College in the great Sunshine State! I study Computer Science and Mathematics and I hope to use both degrees in my future career! I love learning, photography, and creating fun side projects (over the summer I made a server from an old laptop, super fun). Fun fact: I have a clone!

What # would define your life journey?
#lifeLongLearner

Favorite website / app:
Kanye-fidence generator. Everyone needs a little Kanye-fidence before any big test, presentation, or important event. Shout out to my professor for showing this amazing website before a midterm!

AskReddit. Only this subreddit has me reading all the comments on a post! This is a prime example of how reddit brings people together; so many people with different backgrounds sharing their two cents on a topic. When I read it I just feel like I’m in a big group discussion.
reign_2 (1).jpg

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I’m going to give a basic college kid answer to this: the author of the last book I read for class is the person who most inspires me the most. I read Might Be Our Powers by Leymah Gbowee. Leymah is without a doubt the strongest woman I have ever heard about. She was a leader of the women’s movement for peace during Liberia’s civil war. What is most inspirational about her story (the book was a memoir written by her) is how she rose above all the hardships in her life. She had great challenges in her life (experienced the horrors of war, had an abusive husband, unplanned pregnancies), but even when everything seemed to be against her, her willpower was so strong that she accomplished great things. Basically, she inspires me to not get hung up on the small challenges I face in my life and to not take things for granted.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Hips Don’t Lie” – Shakira
reign_3.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I was in an abusive relationship for a year. He was just very controlling and basically wrecked my confidence. When I finally ended things I was just so angry at what I had turned into. Even now (relationship ended around 7 months ago) I still have anxiety from everything. But I think the worst part is realizing I’m just part of a statistic. Whenever I go into a bathroom at my college, right there on the stall door is “43% of women in college report experiencing abusive behavior from a relationship.” That’s it, I’m just part of that 43% who finally got sick and tired enough to end things. I’m feeling a lot more confident in myself now, but I still have a long ways to heal. I just hope others are stronger than I was and can avoid experiences like this altogether. Or, even better, I hope people are raised with more love and care so that they don’t resort to controlling others because of their own emotional issues.

Ideal Job:
Honestly, I’m still trying to figure this out! I think my ideal job would just be something that everyone wants in a job-to feel successful. Success is subjective, but my definition of success is a job where I feel needed, challenged, and respected. Having a job that gives back on either a local, global, or future-looking level is a great plus!
reign_4.jpg

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
YOU are in control of your life. It’s very hard to change even when you’re unhappy with life, but only you can fix that.

Leave a Reply

