#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Katyayni Gupta

“It is our choices, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” — J.K Rowling
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a student at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign majoring in Computer Science and minoring in the Hoeft Technology and Management Program. I’m super passionate about music and especially singing. Music is my mantra.

Fun Fact: I have never consistently lived in the same place for more than four years!

What # would define your life journey?
#HustleHard
1502336_10203703582503322_5080623315702729086_o-1

Favorite website / app:
Current Favorite Apps: Polymail and Slack
Current Favorite Websites: Buzzfeed and Product Hunt

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My parents are my biggest inspiration. They’ve taught me everything I know and have helped me become everything I am. They are my biggest pillars and I owe everything to them.

Song that makes you want to dance:
(There is no way I can just pick one)  Drake, Kanye, Travis Scott, Chance The Rapper, Rihanna, Major Lazer, The Chainsmokers, and Justin Bieber. This is most definitely a limited list 🙂
11742635_10206097548630979_4704897948066633010_n

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Many years ago, I was a super shy and quiet kid. Didn’t have too many friends and kept mostly to myself. However, these personality traits aren’t these easiest one’s to have when I wanted to be so much more than that. The day I decided that I didn’t want to be that person anymore, was the day I changed entirely. The next day, I was completely confident in who I was and vowed to be a leader. I faked who I wanted to be until I made it. The girl I used to be is completely unrecognizable to me today but without making the conscious decision that I deserved to be who I wanted to be, I wouldn’t be who I am today. If anything, it’s another part of my life that proves that if you put your mind to something and work hard at it, you can achieve everything you want.

Ideal Job:
I aim to be creating something that will bring great value to the world. Personally, I believe that taking something you’re passionate about and evolving it to become something that the world can use, is the way I would like to leave a legacy.
1512175_1047514361974773_6344410472570627602_o

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
It doesn’t matter who you are, what your gender is, or what the color of your skin may be. You are special. People will try to take away from your credentials and put down your successes, but celebrate all the good and the bad that occur because it’s what makes you who you are. Work hard, stay happy.

Leave a Reply

