inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Soulmaz Salehian

“It doesn’t matter where you come from, it’s what you grow into.” – Gloria Steinem
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a grad student in Oakland University in Michigan, studying Computer Science and Informatics. I am from Iran and I emigrated two times. In 2010, I moved to Malaysia for the sake of education. After I finished my master I felt like I need more exploration, so I decided to move to US for pursuing my studies. Moving abroad, leaving my family and my country and also living alone first seem like a nightmare for me, but I am happy that I followed my dreams and lived my life.

What # would define your life journey?
#AlwaysthinkGod&Icandoit

Favorite website / app:
Linkedin
pic1.jpg

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Whenever I get discouraged I remember my father who never feels disappointed. He’s always been my hero.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Waka Waka-Shakira , Honey- Shahram solati
IMG_4954.JPG

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Living abroad is an exciting experience but it does not mean that it is easy. When you find yourself alone in a new place with a new culture and language, it is a strange feeling. You feel stress and anxious but all these make you stronger. Every time I have got lost in streets, every time  I miss my family , my country and my friends and every time I feel loneliness in difficult situations, I learn that when those difficulties come, you won’t drift but you will learn something new and you will become stronger. So, there will be always waves and winds but all are for your upliftment and not for your downfall.
IMG_4709.JPG

Ideal Job:
My ideal job is working in industry where I could impact on the real world and be mentored with professional, talented and experienced and knowledgeable persons and also be a part of the society of women who can change the world!
DSC01989.JPG

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Whenever you feel afraid to do something just do it. Fear can stop people from trying and being great. Live your dreams and do not allow that your fears obstruct your way. Fear is limiting: you will not learn until you fail. Failure will not stop you: encouragement will make you stronger.

Leave a Reply

