#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Yunhan Yang

“Get busy living, or get busy dying.”  — From Shawshank Redemption
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi, my name is Yunhan Yang and I am a junior studying Computer Science at the University of Southern California (USC). I really enjoy my college life as a female engineer majoring in computer science. I first chose USC because of the California weather, but now I totally fell in love with the beautiful campus and dynamic life at USC.

At USC I joined Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) and Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) in USC, which are really amazing. It’s nice to go to seminars and hear professors share their research process and future development. Also there are plenty of opportunities at USC, especially in technology. A fun Fact is I love history and tech. So next semester I plan to take an anthropology class which uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for modern archaeology. It will be great to link our past through new tech.

What # would define your life journey?
#Beyourself
reign2

Favorite website / app:
http://learning.acm.org/webinar/. I like learning new stuff, haha.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My father is my best inspiration. When I was struggling for what I wanted to do and where I wanted to study in the future he encouraged me to expand my view. I took his advice and did research. I found I was particularly curious as to why so many people choose computer science and I wanted to study in a globally environment. So I discussed with him and decided to became a women engineer.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“Lost Stars” Adam Levine

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
The best and worst part of computer science is group work. If you get to know your coding partner you will really enjoy the time you spend together designing and programming. Even debugging becomes an interesting process. The more upper classes I took, the more I found that group work became part of my life. During the previous part I usually worked hard to learn new data structures or algorithms, but now I focus more on how to implement and present a project with high efficiency and high quality with my team members.
reign1

Ideal Job:
I am really interested in doing back-end. I am still trying to figure out what is the most suitable role for me in Computer Science. I want to be a software engineer or an APP developer and work in a great team in the future. Computer science opens so many opportunists for us and I am excited to find out what I will become in 10 years.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Written down your interests and passions, it is better to have a basic blueprint for your future than trying everything people suggest instantly. It’s important to listen to suggestions but it’s more important to make your own mind. Follow your heart and try things you want, you will enjoy many new experience and new friends.

Leave a Reply

