#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Christa Cody

“A woman is the full circle. Within her is the power to create, nurture and transform.” – Diane Mariechild
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m a 2nd year PhD person at North Carolina State University in Computer Science. My research focus is machine learning/educational data mining. When I’m not knee-deep in work, I spend my time rock climbing and powerlifting.

What # would define your life journey?
My first computer science professor and eventual undergraduate research mentor, Dr. Ambareen Siraj, inspired me to go into research and helped me learn to be confident in myself and my work.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
My first computer science professor and eventual undergraduate research mentor, Dr. Ambareen Siraj, inspired me to go into research and helped me learn to be confident in myself and my work.
20161001_133654_2.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I’ve always had social anxiety – especially when publicly speaking. When I started to get into computer science research in my undergrad, I realized that I would have to learn to be great at public speaking as well as one-on-one conversations if I wanted my work to be noticed. So, I took every opportunity I could to publicly speak, and I’m finally able to stand in front of a group of people and talk with confidence.

Ideal Job:
I would love to have machine learning/data mining research position involving research that has a good impact on the world. One specific area that I have interest in is STEM education, so I’m also strongly leaning towards being a professor that does research to benefit STEM education.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t make your choices based on other peoples’ opinions, and, most importantly, don’t hold yourself back from taking opportunities.

Leave a Reply

