#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Hannah Acheson-Field

“I can’t think of any better representation of beauty than someone who is unafraid to be herself.” – Emma Stone
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I graduated from Brown in 2015 with a degree in Computational Biology. After I graduated, I spent the year living and working in Dubai. I recently moved to Washington, DC where I am working at the Science and Technology Policy Institute, a federally funded research and development center that supports the White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). I am currently working on projects to increase diversity in the STEM workforce along with an evaluation of a large scholarship program.

I also love to knit and am most proud of the three sweaters I’ve made in the past few years. I also tap dance.

What # would define your life journey?
#strongwomen

Favorite website / app:
Sky Scanner (I love to travel!)

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Hillary Clinton. Today is November 13th, 2016, 5 days after the 2016 election. This past week, especially, I have been inspired by her courage, compassion, ambition, and humility.
pic2.jpg

Song that makes you want to dance:
Dancing Queen by Abba

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Last year I moved to Dubai, where I knew nobody. Truthfully, I had not been that homesick in years and missed family, friends, and other comforts that I had grown accustomed. Work was in a field in which I was not familiar, and it took me a few months to find friends and settle into a routine. After a few months in Dubai, however, I had settled in and grew to love the craziness of a new city.

Ideal Job:
I am not sure exactly, but my dream job would be working, likely in policy, to increase the diversity of STEM fields. Another component of a potential dream job would have an international component, either travelling or living abroad for a significant period of time.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I have a mug that says “Wake up, kick ass, be kind. Repeat.” I like reminded of this in the mornings.

Leave a Reply

