#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sabrina Tsui

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.” – Alice Walker
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a computer science undergraduate at UC Santa Cruz, class of 2019. Although I started as a bioinformatics major (bio + CS), I soon realized that I liked the computing part much better, and now I am happily a CS major! In my free time I like to play the euphonium, and go hiking.

Fun fact: I was named after the movie “Sabrina

What # would define your life journey?
#ILookLikeAnEngineer

When I was younger I found it hard to picture myself going into STEM, and especially tech as a career path because I always had imagined it as an anti-social, basement-dwelling stereotype that I didn’t fit. It was only until I met other women in tech that I started to think about pursuing it for myself.
reign2.png

Favorite website / app:
I love that YouTube, a website that was built mainly for video sharing, became a platform for education, humor, community, and so much more. I can’t tell you how many times Youtube’s educational videos helped me do well in my classes by filling in holes in my understanding that I didn’t get the first time through in lecture. I’m also a proud member of the online Nerdfighter community, and I love how Youtube made it possible for us to laugh, think and create change (look up Project for Awesome) with people from all around the world. It’s crazy how people interact with technology and evolve it in ways its creators never imagined. I think Youtube is a perfect example of that.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Malala Yousafzai’s passion for empowering young women through education is incredible. I admire her strength and bravery to stand up for her peers, especially in the face of political opposition and violence.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Don’t Stop Believing by Journey
reign3.png

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I have struggled with a lack of confidence in my own abilities, sometimes my doubt in myself causing me to underperform simply because I was holding myself back mentally. For example, in high school I almost backed out of taking an accelerated math class because for some reason, I thought I wasn’t “good enough.” Luckily, my teacher persuaded me to just go for it, and I ended up getting an A in the class.

It’s crazy, but changing from being my own fear-leader to my own cheerleader made all the difference.
IMG_6194[1].JPG

Ideal Job:
My dream role is CTO (why not aim high?) but in all honesty, it doesn’t matter as much to me what I am doing, but more in how what I’m doing is helping people. I want to be working in the software industry because I see so much potential for technology to reach a wide range of people from all walks of life, and help improve their quality of living.

Helping people was one of the main reasons I became interested in STEM in the first place, and I hope I never lose sight of that motivation.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Surround yourself with people that are a positive addition to your life. It’s so much easier being the best version of yourself when you are a part of a strong support system with people that believe in each other rather than tear you down.

Leave a Reply

