#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Adaiya Granberry

I’ve never felt that fear is my enemy. Fear is my friend. It offers me a chance to stay alert, keep growing, continue creating something new. If you don’t take that sort of risk, you learn nothing. -Earth Kitt
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Adaiya Granberry and I am originally from Tacoma, WA. Currently I’m a sophomore at Duke in North Carolina. I came here with Pre-Business intentions, and somehow am now studying Public Policy+CompSci.

Things I love: music – going to concerts/festivals; food – trying new restaurants; reading feminist literature – because women are dope; being outdoors from time to time – hiking, smelling flowers, all that good stuff; just exploring in general; and visiting museums/looking at art – trying to understand as an extremely untalented artist myself.

And a fun fact about myself is that I, unlike many people, dislike chocolate cake, cupcakes, ice cream, etc.
IMG_5960.jpg

What # would define your life journey?
#DazedandConfused :~)

Favorite website / app:
tumblr – when i have the time

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Gabrielle Union – watch Being Mary Jane for hours of knowledge
IMG_5669.jpg

Ideal Job:
I hope to have my MBA, and that’s about all I know for sure. I’ve really struggled figuring out where I want to end up because I’ve discovered there are really endless options out there. I think I definitely want to work in a management/leadership role just because I really like the idea of being able to collaborate with and help lead a group toward a common goal. It would be awesome if I could do something like that @a tech company that utilizes technology and innovation to make people’s lives easier/more efficient, or @a company that makes impact in communities like where I grew up, or @a company that empowers and provides a platform for marginalized groups (by race/gender/sexual orientation/religion/socioeconomic status) to act on their ideas and succeed—ideally, a company that combines all three 🙂

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?Define what your goals are in life, determine what the best route is, for you personally, to get there. Understand that your plan may fall through, that is perfectly fine. Challenge yourself, remind yourself daily of your worth and your capabilities. Don’t let anyone tell you that you are not able—prove them wrong. Never stop learning, remain curious. Continue to blaze the path for those behind you, bring others up with you on your path to REIGN. Remember what you set out to do, remember that you are enough, and of course:
smash.gif

Leave a Reply

