#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · STEM · Technology · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Yifan Xing

“Give [computer science] a shot. It’s okay if you don’t like it, or end up doing something else. But you never know unless you dedicate serious time and effort to trying. And if you do like it, share that with others. You have no idea how many wonderful communities exist for supporting and encouraging women to keep it up, and that’s so empowering.” – Terri Burns, President of Tech@NYU

~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hi! I am studying Computer Science at Northeastern University. I spend most of my time developing programs for work or for fun! The rest of my time is used on watching movies, meeting with friends and families, and traveling. I love music and I play Guzheng, which is a plucked zither.
Fun fact: I was once into learning micro expressions, so I am very familiar with reading facial expressions! 😉

Favorite website / app:
Favorite Website: Lynda.com
I cannot tell you how much I have learned from this great website.

Tech: Ruby on Rails
This is a powerful and magic tool. I currently use it to help a non-profit organization to build their data collection platform. I love rails!

hackbean-pot-t-shirtSomeone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Many people have influenced me in the past. I will not be able to have the personality and skills that I have today without any of them. Frank Rudolph, my father, my best friend, and my mentor. He helped me to become confident and courageous. The most enjoyable time is to chat with him and listen to his stories.

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I must be honest to say that I did not know what computer scientists do before college. Having no technical background and starting from zero in my first year of college was absolutely a challenge. Learning the computer scientist’s way of thinking was very dsc05926_m_2difficult. I struggled and felt unconfident. By talking with many friends in this field, I learned that none of them had an easy time at the beginning of their careers. Knowing struggling is a part of the learning experience, I decided to persevere and focus on accomplish short-term goals instead of worrying about long-term goals. I improved quickly once I stopped feeling unconfident and anxious. One of the great things that we, people in tech fields, can do is to learn all the cutting-edge skills and technologies and use them to build better technologies. I am proud to be in tech field and I will continue learning and contributing to this field!

Ideal Job:
My idea job is the one that will offer me the opportunity to build a platform to help people in need.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Be confident! You are just as capable as anyone else.

Link to Video of Yifan Xing at WeCode talking to ReigningIt
Leave a Reply

