#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Susana Romelia Gomez-Burgos

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.” George Eliot
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I grew up in Tijuana, Mexico. I started out as an Environmental Engineer but always kept taking one computer science classes each semester until I transferred into my major which is Technology, Arts & Media at the University of Colorado Boulder.

A fun fact would be that I was the safety manager during the construction of a pedestrian foot bridge in Samaca, Bolivia. Got to live in a rural town for two months, it was so fun!!

What # would define your life journey?
#traveloften

Favorite website / app:
http://www.refinery29.com/

I love Refinery’s website because they have all the news that I am interested in from current events to technology and even healthy tips. I am a fan of their web designs and also their side websites for their temporal projects like 29Rooms: http://www.refinery29.com/29rooms/

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Throughout my career, I’ve met amazing women in tech who have inspired me with their journey and the amazing things they do.

My greatest inspiration has been learning about their amazing projects and seeing how dedicated they are at what they do.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Any song by Gnarls Barkley

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I am a first generation college student and attending/paying for college has been one of the biggest challenges that I’ve encountered but it has been so worth it!

Ideal Job:
I see myself working as a designer and front-end developer in the future!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Never to give up. Sometimes you might feel overwhelmed and want to change paths but if you are doing something you love it will be worth it. There’s been so many semesters when I’m tired and stressed with everything that is going on but the projects that I’ve gotten to work during my internships or school trips have been amazing and worth it!

2 thoughts on “Women Who Reign: Susana Romelia Gomez-Burgos

  1. Great profile! I’d love to connect with Susana for an article I’m writing for Refraction Media. Is there a way to get in touch with her?

    By the way, thanks for this inspiring collection of stories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

