#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Nayha Kamboj

When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.” – Henry Ford
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Nayha Kamboj and I am a woman in technology. I study Computer Science/Business Administration at the University of Southern California. I’m currently on the rock climbing team, and spend most of my free time learning how to be a freelance makeup artist.

What # would define your life journey?
I would describe my life journey as #unique. When I was a little girl, I hated my name. Traditionally, Nayha is spelled Neha and my peers would mock me because of it. As I grew older, I learned to love the uniqueness of my spelling – it is a common Indian name but with a unique twist.

6792_10209093003272299_4809231859676281315_n.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
I have had ADHD ever since I was a little girl. My parents refused to give me drugs to fix it, and encouraged me to change my study habits instead. Those study habits worked until last year, when I took Data Structures. My whole world was turned upside down. I thought I had overcome my ADHD and figured out how to study in a way that worked for me. However, none of those old techniques worked anymore and I felt lost and frustrated because I couldn’t control my own body. As a result, my grades suffered. A class that is known for being hard became impossible for me due to my ADHD. I consulted my professors for studying advice and pleaded for extra office hours, hired several tutors to help me get through the material, and completely changed my study habits once again. It was tedious trying to re-learn my mind and how I process material. Slowly but surely, I found a routine that worked for me. I started to perform much better not only in my Data Structures Class but also in all of my other classes, and was able to bring up my grades. The hardest part about last year ended up not being my Data Structures class, but having to deal with my ADHD in a level I have never experienced before. Currently, I have my ADHD under control, and my grades have been improving ever since.

Ideal Job:
In ten years I see myself using technology to help dogs. I have an idea for a start-up that I am currently pursuing. The start-up helps dogs in a way that I haven’t seen so far. Ideally, I would like that start-up to be successful in ten years, and have helped thousands of dogs because of it.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
I impart the same wisdom I tell myself every morning: Be Unique. Be You. All of the greatest inventions were from people who stood out amongst the crowd and weren’t scared to venture out by themselves. Being in technology opens up so many doors for you so don’t be scared to combine your interests! Just because you’re a women in tech doesn’t mean you’re only a women in tech – it just means tech is a facet of your life.
983644_10203596580105155_1720911887542568811_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

