#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Sanya Khurana

“If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else.” Booker T. Washington
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I’m Sanya Khurana and am pursuing a masters in computer applications from IGTUW (senior year). I am the founder and president of Lean In India. Fun fact: I started typing before writing, singing, or speaking before the age of 3.

What # would define your life journey?
#TheyFollowedTheWorldIChangedIt – it’s a big hashtag!!
14874973_10201996698035188_2130258434_n.jpg

Favorite website / app:
www.leanin.org

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Of course Sheryl Sandberg. She gave me the courage to honest, vulnerable and to be myself. I started believing in myself because I believed in her.

Song that makes you want to dance:
Aaj main upar. Aasman niche – lol. I’m not a dance number – but I love dancing to this one.
14826432_10201996697955186_2139337787_n.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Well, fears and self doubts – a lot of them actually!! I grew up believing that I do not have any kind of acrobatic, leadership, organisational, management, communication, or fashion / design skills and will never be able to have them. The only skills I knew I had were singing and programming (but was told I’m not a good techie – because of course it’s for men ). I was sure I was kiddish, immature and weak and had accepted that fact way earlier in life. I started lean in circles and thank Sheryl for her book and her organisation, which led me to learn all the skills.

The challenge was to accept that I DO HAVE the abilities and that I am not worthless. Changing my mindset about myself internally was the biggest life challenge I faced and I could do it because I believed in my lean in friends who always encouraged and believed in me – believed that I could change the world.

Ideal Job:
I see myself in Norway: writing a book, working on a music album and pushing code on GitHub. My ideal job would be to become a Music Composer.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
That it’s not easy…it’s not easy for anyone to not follow the unspoken rules — but if you want to live life in your own terms, it is the only way. Change yourself to change the world around you: it works, it has always worked and it will always work.
14875099_10201996698195192_916485561_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

