#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech

Women Who Reign: Jocelyn Dunkley

“Rarely have I seen a situation where doing less than the other guy is a good strategy.” Jimmy Spithill
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
I am a first-year student at Bryn Mawr College, a women’s college in the Philadelphia suburbs. I plan on majoring in computer science and minoring in math. I thought I wanted to be an engineer until I took my first computer science class my sophomore year of high school. I am a creative person so I loved that I could create very technical projects in computer science but use a lot of creativity. I play violin and viola and I have been playing music for 11 years. I am really interested in learning about different types of computer science like AI, cybersecurity and software development. A fun fact about me is that I have a unique childhood; I was born in England but lived in Japan until I was 10 years old.

What # would define your life journey?
#Don’tGiveUp. Throughout my life I have always gone for the classes and activities that have been a challenge. I have learned that the hardest experiences are usually the most gratifying. And especially for women in STEM, we will always have to try harder than our peers to fight for our ideas and to be recognized for our abilities and to be respected. So although it may seem impossible at times, #Don’tGiveUp.

Favorite website / app:
My favorite app is Snapchat; I love keeping in touch with my friends with weird and funny photos! My favorite website right now is called Ecosia. It’s actually a search engine that uses its ad revenue to plant trees around the world. I always love to support environmentally friendly companies so doing something as easy as using Ecosia to search what I would normally search on Google just makes me feel like I’m doing something small but impactful.

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I know it’s corny, but my mom is someone who inspires me. She has taught me to try things that may not come easily to me, like technology, and to work hard at everything I do. She has also taught me to be open to other people’s perspectives and differences.
IMG_0076.JPG

Song that makes you want to dance:
Feel Right by Mark Ronson

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
Probably most recently in college it has been challenging to balance school, extracurriculars and working to pay for my college tuition.

Ideal Job:
My two dream jobs are to work at a renewable energy company or work at a startup created/run by women, or both! I have grown up very environmentally conscious and I think we should invest more into research and development of renewable energy and make it more commercially available. As for the woman startup, many tech companies have a track record of discrimination against women so I think it would be ideal to work in an environment that is run by women.

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Don’t be afraid to try something super hard and fail. You won’t improve or learn if you don’t push your boundaries. And if you fail, you can learn from your mistakes and try again. It’s all a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

