#WomeninSTEM · #WomeninTech · inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Julia Grace

“A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.” – Grace Hopper
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
My name is Julia Grace and I am junior at Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts. In my freshman year at Tufts, I ran through about 5 different majors before finally discovering my love for Computer Science. I had never considered studying CS but as soon as I wrote my first program I knew it was the major for me. Since then, I have had the opportunity to work as a Software Engineering intern in embedded systems and build several web and mobile applications with Tufts’ JumboCode. JumboCode is a student run club at Tufts aimed at providing non-profits and charities with free software services. Next year, I will be serving as Client Manager for the club and can’t wait to pair up with some amazing non-profits! Checkout our Facebook page to learn more: https://www.facebook.com/JumboCode/. In my free time I love to cook, travel, hike and spend time with my amazing family and friends.

Fun Fact: Next semester I will be studying abroad at a Computer Science Program in Budapest, Hungary!
julia3.jpg

What # would define your life journey?
#ALLIN
When I find something I love doing, I try to give it everything I’ve got.

Favorite website / app:
Waze!

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
Someone who inspires me is my grandma. At age 56, my grandmother earned her PhD in Chemistry. She taught me that is never too late to follow your dreams.

Song that makes you want to dance:
I’m a sucker for Holiday Music.
julia4.jpg

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
When I was younger, I really struggled with spelling. I was self conscious about it and became so afraid of messing up that I would opt to use simpler words instead of taking risks and writing what I really meant. My spelling improved over time but I never really gained confidence as a writer until I joined my high school speech team. Without anyone looking over my shoulder, I would write and rewrite speeches for hours on end. Over time I became really proud of my work. Several years of practice writing speeches left me a much more confident writer and speller.
julia1.jpg

Ideal Job:
In 10 years I’d really love to be developing software that makes a difference. I’d like to be in a career where I’m making an impact in my company and in the world. When it comes to what type of software I’d like to develop, I’m definitely still exploring!

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?
Never be afraid to try something because you don’t think you will be good at it. Everyone has to start somewhere and there is no better way to improve than to practice! Experiment, take risks, and surround yourself with really smart people you can learn from!

Leave a Reply

