inspiration · women who reign

Women Who Reign: Caitlin Whitter

“I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions.” Stephen Covey
~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hello everyone! I am a third-year computer science student at The George Washington University, concentrating in software engineering and application development. My technical interests include software development, algorithms, and accessibility. I am a Washington, D.C. native. A fun fact about me is that I love to read! My favorite genre is science fiction.

I am very involved with the School of Engineering and Applied Science. I am an Undergraduate Research Assistant and Undergraduate Teaching Fellow in the computer science department, as well as a mentor in SEASSPAN, our freshman engineering mentorship program.

I am also a member of the Clark Engineering Scholarship Program, University Honors Program, Association for Computing Machinery, National Society of Black Engineers, and Society of Women Engineers.       
main_photo
                  

What # would define your life journey?               
I strive for #adventure to define my life journey because I never want to become too comfortable. Throughout my life, I want to have the drive to push myself to learn new things and have new experiences.

Favorite website / app:
YouTube. I really enjoy watching science channels, “booktube” channels, documentaries, comedy channels, and just seeing what’s trending on that particular day.
pic5

Someone who inspires you and knowledge they have imparted:
I take inspiration from a multitude of people, typically people who overcame great odds through persistence and dedication. This group not only includes public figures, but also everyday people that I have heard about on the local news, family, and friends.

Song that makes you want to dance:
“All Star” by Smash Mouth and “Let’s Get it Started” by The Black Eyed Peas have never let me down. They’re late ‘90s and early ‘00s classics.
pic3

Challenge you’ve faced and how you overcame it:
In the summer following high school graduation, I thought back on opportunities that I could have taken advantage of in high school but did not because they were outside of my comfort zone. That summer, I vowed to take opportunities as they came in college and to continually pursue new ones. If there was something that I was interested in, I would set out to do it, no matter how far I had to venture into unknown territory. This is how I have spent my past two years at college and how I intend to spend my next two. It has worked out great for me so far.

Ideal Job:
In ten years, I see myself either as a leader in a pioneering technology or media company, building an innovative product, or performing research in the realm of algorithms and/or accessibility.
pic2

What knowledge would you impart to women in order for them to REIGN their lives?       I would encourage women to work hard and take calculated risks, find a profession that they enjoy, and throughout their lives, always strive to leave the world a little better off than it was when they got here.

Leave a Reply

